Alert level raised Azumayama volcano, last eruption was in 1977, Japan | WHAT REALLY HAPPENED


Alert level raised Azumayama volcano, last eruption was in 1977, Japan

The Japan Meteorological Agency raised the alert level for Azumayama volcano from level 1 to level 2 on September 15, 2018. The alert was raised to 1 on September 9, 2018. The last eruption of this volcano took place in 1977 (VEI 1).

The alert level was raised at 04:00 UTC (13:00 JST) today after a sharp increase in seismicity detected since 00:13 UTC (09:13 JST) today and continuous deformation, JMA said.

There is a possibility that a small scall eruption will take place in Ayumayama, the agency said, adding that vigilance is required in the range of approximately 1.5 km (0.93 miles) from the large crater.

Local authorities are urging population and tourists not to approach dangerous area.

Comments

SHARE THIS ARTICLE WITH YOUR SOCIAL MEDIA